Acura Company

Acura Company


Acura (/ˈækjʊrə/) is the luxury vehicle marque of Japanese automaker Honda. The brand was launched in the United States and Canada on 27 March 1986, marketing luxury, performance, and high-performance vehicles. It was introduced to Hong Kong in 1991, Mexico in 2004, China in 2006, Russia in 2014 (no longer available in Russia) and Kuwait in 2015, and is also sold in Ukraine.[3] Honda's plan to introduce Acura to the Japanese domestic market (JDM) in 2008 was delayed, due to economic reasons, and later withheld as a result of the 2008 financial crisis.

Acura holds the distinction of being the first Japanese automotive luxury brand. The creation of Acura coincided with the introduction of a JDM Honda dealership sales channel, called Honda Clio, which sold luxury vehicles, joining previously established Honda Verno, followed by Honda Primo the following year. In its first few years of existence, Acura was among the best-selling luxury marques in the US. Though sales were down in the mid-to-late 1990s, the brand experienced a revival in the early 2000s, due to drastic redesigns and the introductions of new models.

In the late 1980s, the success of the company's first flagship vehicle, the Legend, inspired fellow Japanese automakers Toyota and Nissan to launch their own luxury brands, Lexus and Infiniti, respectively. The 1990 launch of the NSX, a mid-engine exotic sports car, offered a reliable and practical alternative to exotic European sports cars, and introduced Honda's VTEC variable valve timing system to the North American market. The 1993 Legend coupé featured Honda's first use of a six-speed manual transmission, mated to a Type II engine. In the late 1990s, Acura produced a Type R version of its compact Integra coupé, which featured a reduced curb weight, a stiffer and lower suspension, and a high-output VTEC engine.

In the early 2000s, Acura introduced new models, including the company's first all-original SUV, the MDX, and two models which replaced the Integra coupé and sedan, the RSX and TSX, respectively. Type-S versions of the RSX, CL, and TL were added to the brand's lineup during that decade. Acura's 2005 RL flagship introduced SH-AWD, a torque-vectoring all-wheel drive system. The 2007 RDX, a crossover SUV, featured the first North American use of a turbocharged Honda engine. In the 2010s, Acura debuted more new models, including the ILX, TLX, and RLX, the latter of which introduced Acura's Jewel Eye LED headlights. A second generation NSX was launched in 2016 and features a twin-turbocharged mid-engine, a nine-speed dual-clutch transmission, and Sport Hybrid SH-AWD.


  • 2009 Acura RL
  • 2007 Acura TSX
  • 2007 Acura TL Type-S
  • 2007 Acura TL
  • 2007 Acura RDX
  • 2007 Acura MDX
  • 2007 Acura Advanced Sports Car Concept
  • 2006 Acura RDX Prototype
  • 2006 Acura MD-X Concept
  • 2006 Acura Advanced Sedan Concept
  • 2005 Acura TSX A-Spec Concept
  • 2005 Acura TSX
  • 2005 Acura TL
  • 2005 Acura RSX Type-S
  • 2005 Acura RSX A-Spec Concept
  • 2005 Acura RSX
  • 2005 Acura RL with ASPEC Performance Package
  • 2013 Acura MDX Concept
  • 2013 Acura ILX Endurance Racer
  • 2013 Acura ILX
  • 2012 Acura TL
  • 2012 Acura RLX Concept
  • 2012 Acura NSX Concept
  • 2012 Acura ILX Street Build Concept
  • 2012 Acura ILX Concept
  • 2011 Acura TSX Sport Wagon
  • 2011 Acura TSX Sedan
  • 2010 Acura ZDX
  • 2010 Acura TSX V6
  • 2010 Acura RDX
  • 2010 Acura MDX
  • 2009 Acura ZDX Concept
  • 2009 Acura TSX
  • 2009 Acura TL

  • 2017 Acura NSX
  • 2017 Acura MDX
  • 2017 Acura CDX
  • 2016 Acura RDX
  • 2016 Acura Precision Concept
  • 2016 Acura NSX EV Concept
  • 2016 Acura NSX
  • 2016 Acura ILX
  • 2015 Acura TLX
  • 2014 Acura TLX Concept
  • 2014 Acura RLX Sport Hybrid
  • 2014 Acura RLX
  • 2014 Acura MDX
  • 2013 Acura SUV-X Concept
  • 2013 Acura RDX
  • 2013 Acura NSX Concept
  • 2019 Acura RDX
  • 2019 Acura NSX
  • 2019 Acura MDX A-Spec
  • 2019 Acura ILX
  • 2018 Acura TLX
  • 2018 Acura RLX
  • 2018 Acura RDX Concept